top of page

Four community members added to Evanston's Reparations Committee

Yesterday, Monday, April 26, the Evanston City Council voted to approve four community members to serve on the City of Evanston’s Reparations Committee, joining new Council members from the 2nd, 5th and 8th Wards, once they're seated--Ald. Peter Braithwaite, Ald. Bobby Burns, and Ald. Devon Reid. The committee will continue the work started by the Reparations Subcommittee, which is being dissolved.

Committee members were recommended by Mayor Stephen Hagerty after receiving input from Mayor-Elect Daniel Biss and submitted to City Council for approval. More than 30 residents applied.

Residents appointed to serve on the committee include:

“Each of these community members brings a unique perspective but a common commitment to repairing the generational harms caused by racism and discrimination,” said Mayor Stephen Hagerty. “I greatly appreciate their willingness to take on this responsibility as members of the City’s Reparations Committee, and I look forward to their contributions and leadership on this historic initiative.”

“I’m grateful to all those who’ve contributed to our City’s first bold steps towards acknowledging, addressing and repairing the damage done to generations of Evanston families by systemic racism and white supremacy,” said Mayor-Elect Daniel Biss. “I look forward to working with the Reparations Committee, the City Council and our community to chart a successful path forward, and ensuring that all those impacted have a voice in this process. Thanks also to Mayor Hagerty for allowing me to participate in this appointment process.”

The Reparations Committee will be responsible for implementing the recently approved Restorative Housing Program and recommending future funding allocations for housing and economic development initiatives to address historical discrimination.

Click here for more information about the City of Evanston Local Reparations.

Evanston's reparations town hall, December 2019


bottom of page